Back to News

November 21, 2022

NMPA Most Popular Driver Award voting continues

MPD voting graphic

As the holiday season inches closer and the weather continues to turn, voting polls for the 2022 National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award presented by Hooters remain open for those eager to cast a ballot or three.

Fans can vote for a single driver once daily at or on the mobile app. Ballots can also be cast for Most Popular Driver in the Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series. Voting closes at noon ET on Nov. 30.

RELATED: Cup Series standings | List of 2022 Cup Series drivers

Through one week of voting action, here are the top 10 vote-getters in each series (alphabetical order):

Cup Series:

Christopher Bell

Ryan Blaney

Alex Bowman

Kyle Busch

Ross Chastain

Chase Elliott

Kevin Harvick

Kyle Larson

Joey Logano

Martin Truex Jr.

Xfinity Series:

Justin Allgaier

AJ Allmendinger

Josh Berry

Jeremy Clements

Sheldon Creed

Ty Gibbs

Noah Gragson

Austin Hill

Brandon Jones

Sam Mayer

Camping World Truck Series:

Matt Crafton

Hailie Deegan

Matt DiBenedetto

Stewart Friesen

Carson Hocevar

Ty Majeski

John Hunter Nemechek

Ben Rhodes

Zane Smith

Chandler Smith

Since 1983, the NMPA has presented the award annually. The award remains the only major NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote. The 1988 Cup Series champion Bill Elliott holds the record for Most Popular Driver Award with 16 (1984-88, 1991-2000 and 2002). Dale Earnhardt Jr., meanwhile, won the award for 15 consecutive seasons (2003-2017).

RELATED: Every NMPA Driver Award winner

Formed in 1965, the National Motorsports Press Association consists of qualified media members who report on the sport of auto racing through affiliations with print, radio, television and/or Internet news-gathering organizations. In addition to the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award, the NMPA presents an array of significant honors in auto racing, including the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Myers Brothers Award, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence.

Additional information about the NMPA can be found at