Back to News

December 1, 2022

NASCAR Playoffs recap: Championship 4, Truck Series

Editor’s note: With Champion’s Week in Nashville ongoing, will look at every playoff round of the 2022 season in all three national series.

CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: At Phoenix Raceway, Nov. 4

Zane Smith holds title trophy
Christian Petersen | Getty Images

WINNER: Zane Smith

KEY HIGHLIGHTS: All four Championship 4 drivers — Ty Majeski, Zane Smith, Chandler Smith and Ben Rhodes — had their respective time to shine in the desert. However, after lining up behind Rhodes during a two-lap shootout in overtime, Zane found enough space and speed to hold off the defending champion and take home the title in his third championship attempt.

Race recap: Zane Smith wins Truck Series finale thriller at Phoenix, claims first series championship

At-track photos: 2022 Phoenix Championship Weekend

CHAMPIONSHIP 4 ORDER OF FINISH: Zane Smith (1st), Ben Rhodes (2nd), Chandler Smith (3rd), Ty Majeski (20th)