Front Row Motorsports exercises options on McDowell, Gilliland

Michael McDowell and Todd Gilliland during drive intros at The Clash
Joe Scarnici
Getty Images

Front Row Motorsports revealed its 2024 NASCAR Cup Series driver lineup on Wednesday with Michael McDowell returning for his seventh full-time season for the Bob Jenkins-owned team. Joining McDowell will be Todd Gilliland, who currently is sharing the team’s second car with Zane Smith.

RELATED: Indianapolis schedule | Cup standings

Smith, the 2022 Craftsman Truck Series champion, is exploring opportunities in NASCAR’s other national series, including remaining at FRM in 2024. Front Row will compete in the Truck Series in 2024 with plans for that program expected to be announced in the weeks to come.

“Both Michael and Todd are like family to me,” Jenkins said in a team release. “They have been determined to make the team better each season and they just keep fighting to do that. I’m proud of both and now we will be focused on the remainder of 2023 and prepare for 2024 to be even better.”

McDowell, 38, won the 2021 Daytona 500 while driving the No. 34 Ford for Front Row, accounting for the 16-year veteran’s only Cup Series victory. McDowell set career highs last season with 12 top-10 finishes and an average finish of 16.7.

This season, McDowell is 17th in the standings, just three points behind Ty Gibbs for the final playoff spot. Three regular-season races remain, including Sunday’s contest from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course (2:30 p.m. ET, NBC, IMS Radio, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, NBC Sports App).

Gilliland has three top-10 finishes in 23 races this season in the No. 38 Ford. His best finish was eighth place at the Bristol Dirt Race. Gilliland has three career wins in the Craftsman Truck Series, including one for Front Row in 2021 at Circuit of The Americas.

Smith has one top-10 finish in six Cup races this season, and that was a 10th-place finish in the No. 38 Ford at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Smith has nine victories in the Truck Series, including two this year, and is locked into this year’s Truck playoffs, which get underway Friday night at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park (9 ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM).