Back to News

August 26, 2023

2023 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs field set

The 2023 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs field was set Saturday at Daytona International Speedway in the regular-season finale.

Fifteen of 16 spots had been clinched in advance of the Coke Zero Sugar 400, meaning one spot was available. Bubba Wallace earned the final spot based on points when repeat winner Chris Buescher of Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing took the checkered flag.

RELATED: Official race results | Cup playoff hub

Wallace of 23XI Racing entered the regular-season finale 32 points ahead of Joe Gibbs Racing’s Ty Gibbs for the final playoff spot.

Below is the official list of drivers for the Round of 16 with seeding and points.


1William ByronHendrick Motorsports2,036
2Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing2,036
3Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing2,025
4Chris BuescherRFK Racing2,021
5Kyle BuschRichard Childress Racing2,019
6Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports2,017
7Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing2,014
8Ross ChastainTrackhouse Racing2,011
9Brad KeselowskiRFK Racing2,010
10Tyler Reddick23XI Racing2,009
11Joey LoganoTeam Penske2,008
12Ryan BlaneyTeam Penske2,008
13Michael McDowellFront Row Motorsports2,007
14Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty Racing2,005
15Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas Racing2,004
16Bubba Wallace23XI Racing2,000

NEXT UP: The NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs begin next Sunday, Sept. 3, at Darlington Raceway with the Cook Out Southern 500 (6 p.m. ET, USA, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, NBC Sports App).