Back to News

September 27, 2023

Spire bolsters Truck Series operations, purchases Kyle Busch Motorsports

Kyle Busch Motorsports teammates Jack Wood (51) and Chase Purdy race at Atlanta Motor Speedway
Jonathan Bachman
Getty Images

Kyle Busch announced Wednesday that he has sold Kyle Busch Motorsports and Rowdy Manufacturing to Spire Motorsports, shifting the team ownership spectrum in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series.

Included in the sale are the assets of Busch’s NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series team and the assets of Rowdy Manufacturing’s chassis building operation and CNC machine shop. The transaction also includes the 77,000-square-foot facility that houses KBM and Rowdy Manufacturing in Mooresville, North Carolina.

RELATED: Truck Series standings | Talladega schedule

“When we started the Truck Series team back in 2010, I never imagined that we would be able to win 100 races with 18 different drivers and that one day I’d be racing in the Cup Series alongside so many of the drivers that I once mentored at KBM,” Busch said in a team press release. “I owe a lot of gratitude to so many people, starting with Samantha and my family for believing in this dream that I had. It took countless hours by so many amazing people to make KBM the winningest team in Truck Series history. I will always appreciate everyone that walked through the doors and gave their all to make this such a successful organization.”

The arrangement signals the end of a 14-year tenure for one of the Craftsman Truck tour’s most decorated teams. The Kyle Busch-owned organization scored its 100th Truck Series win earlier this season and fielded trucks for two series champions, both of whom have since joined their former team owner in the Cup Series — Erik Jones, the 2015 champ, and Christopher Bell, who reigned in 2017.

Busch accounted for 48 of his team’s 100 wins as the driver of his own trucks, but the team also provided a springboard for promising young talents who would reach NASCAR’s big leagues. In addition to Jones and Bell, Kyle Busch Motorsports fielded trucks for current Cup Series drivers Bubba Wallace, William Byron, Daniel Suárez, Harrison Burton and Todd Gilliland.

KBM was long a proving ground for prospects in the Toyota pipeline. The organization shifted its manufacturer alliance to Chevrolet this season, a move that dovetailed with Busch’s leap across automaker lines from Joe Gibbs Racing to Richard Childress Racing on the Cup Series side.

The organization currently fields two entries in the Craftsman Truck Series – the No. 4 Silverado for full-time driver Chase Purdy and the No. 51 Chevy for a rotation of drivers including Busch, Jack Wood and others.

Spire first entered NASCAR competition as a single-car Cup Series team in 2019, and the group began part-time participation in the Truck Series in 2022. The team has two victories in 20 Truck Series starts, with current Hendrick Motorsports teammates William Byron and Kyle Larson dividing the wins.

Spire scored its only Cup Series win in its first season in 2019, with Justin Haley prevailing in the summertime race at Daytona International Speedway. The Jeff Dickerson and T.J. Puchyr-owned organization currently fields two Cup Series entries for teammates Corey LaJoie and Ty Dillon.