Back to News

November 7, 2023

2023 NMPA Most Popular Driver voting now open

Most Popular driver graphic

Voting for the 2023 National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award presented by Hooters opened Tuesday at noon ET and will run until Wednesday, Nov. 29.

Fans can vote for a single driver once daily at on or on the mobile app.

In order to be eligible for consideration, drivers must have declared NASCAR Cup Series points and be eligible for championship contention during the 2023 NASCAR Cup Series season.

Don’t forget to also vote for Most Popular Driver of the Xfinity Series and Most Popular Driver of the Craftsman Truck Series.

RELATED: Cup Series standings | List of 2023 Cup Series drivers

The 2023 NMPA Most Popular Driver will be announced during the NASCAR Awards banquet on Thursday, Nov. 30.

Curtis Turner was the first driver honored with the award back in 1949, and the prize has been presented annually since the 1983 season. The Most Popular Driver award remains the only major NASCAR award that is determined solely by fans.

Twenty drivers have received the award since the program began. The 1988 Cup Series champion Bill Elliott holds the record for Most Popular Driver Award wins with 16 – 1984-88, 1991-2000 and 2002. Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the award for 15 consecutive seasons (2003-2017).

Currently, Chase Elliott of Hendrick Motorsports is building a winning streak being voted NASCAR’s most popular driver in each of the last five seasons (2018-22).

RELATED: Every NMPA MPD Award winner

Formed in 1965, the National Motorsports Press Association consists of qualified members of the media who report on the sport of auto racing through affiliations with print, radio, television and/or Internet news-gathering organizations. In addition to the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award, the NMPA presents an array of significant honors in auto racing, including the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Myers Brothers Award, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence.

Additional information about the NMPA can be found at