Back to News

November 27, 2023

2023 NMPA Most Popular Driver Award voting continues

Most Popular driver graphic

As the holiday season inches closer and the weather continues to turn, voting polls for the 2023 National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award presented by Hooters remain open for those eager to cast a ballot or three.

Fans can vote for a single driver once daily at on or in NASCAR Mobile. Ballots can also be cast for Most Popular Driver in the Xfinity Series and Craftsman Truck Series. Voting closes on Wednesday, Nov. 30.

As the voting window nears its closure, here are the top five vote-getters in each series (alphabetical order):

Cup Series

Ryan Blaney
Kyle Busch
Ross Chastain
Chase Elliott
Kyle Larson

Xfinity Series

Justin Allgaier
Josh Berry
Sheldon Creed
Cole Custer
Josh Williams

Craftsman Truck Series

Hailie Deegan
Matt DiBenedetto
Stewart Friesen
Carson Hocevar
Ben Rhodes

Since 1983, the NMPA has presented the award annually. The award remains the only major NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote. The 1988 Cup Series champion Bill Elliott holds the record for Most Popular Driver Award with 16 (1984-88, 1991-2000 and 2002). Dale Earnhardt Jr., meanwhile, won the award for 15 consecutive seasons (2003-2017).

RELATED: Every NMPA Driver Award winner

Formed in 1965, the National Motorsports Press Association consists of qualified media members who report on the sport of auto racing through affiliations with print, radio, television and/or Internet news-gathering organizations. In addition to the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award, the NMPA presents an array of significant honors in auto racing, including the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Myers Brothers Award, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence.