Spencer Boyd forms Freedom Racing Enterprises; team to race full-time in Truck Series beginning in 2024

Spencer Boyd walks across the stage and waves to the crowd before a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race.
Sean Gardner
Getty Images

Spencer Boyd announced Monday at Charlotte Motor Speedway that he and co-owner Chris Miller have formed Freedom Racing Enterprises (FRE), a new NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series team slated to begin full-season action in 2024.

The organization will utilize the No. 76 on its Chevrolet Silverado, with Boyd scheduled to drive behind the wheel. The full-time Truck endeavor will be one of familiarity for the 28-year-old Missouri native, who has 108 career starts in the circuit and additionally possesses a 2019 Truck win at Talladega Superspeedway, his first national series victory.

RELATED: Key moves in Silly Season | 2024 Truck Series schedule

Jeff Hammond, a FOX Sports analyst and former crew chief for Darrell Waltrip, will serve as general manager, while Greg Ely and Rick Bourgeois will serve as crew chief and car chief, respectively.

“This is a wildly proud moment for me,” Boyd said in a press release. “If you asked a wide-eyed 20-year-old me at Martinsville Speedway if I was going to start my own NASCAR team in the next decade, I might have laughed it off. I have been blessed to be able to race cars for a living and remain part of the NASCAR family for as long as I have. I wouldn’t be here without a small group of very important people to my career, so I definitely want to thank them for believing in me through thick and thin. They know who they are and hope they are sharing in this feeling of pride.”

Pride additionally serves as a foundation for the team’s name, with Boyd’s love of country, in combination with Miller’s company and Boyd’s sponsor, Freedom Warranty, making up the framework.

FRE’s full sponsorship lineup for 2024 will be announced at a later date.

MORE: 2024 Daytona Speedweeks schedule

The team’s first race will be at Daytona International Speedway on Friday, Feb. 16 (7:30 p.m. ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).