Back to News

February 27, 2024

Hendrick Motorsports to enter 10 Xfinity Series races in 2024

Kyle Larson drives the No. 17 Chevrolet during Xfinity Series practice in 2023 at Darlington Raceway.
James Gilbert
Getty Images

CONCORD, N.C. — In 2024, Hendrick Motorsports will enter 10 NASCAR Xfinity Series races with primary sponsorship from Each of the organization’s four NASCAR Cup Series drivers will compete in the No. 17 Chevrolet Camaro this season, along with a special appearance by popular road-racing veteran Boris Said.

The schedule will kick off March 9 at Phoenix Raceway with the first of four starts for 2024 Daytona 500 champion William Byron and crew chief Brandon McSwain, the lead engineer on the No. 24 Cup Series team. The remaining six races for the No. 17 team will be called by 2014 Xfinity Series champion crew chief Greg Ives, who has 15 NASCAR national series wins.

RELATED: Full Xfinity Series schedule

Related Story
Hendrick Motorsports’ most memorable wins Hendrick Motorsports’ most memorable wins

The No. 17 team made four Xfinity Series starts in 2022 and six in 2023. In 10 combined appearances, it accumulated three pole positions, six top-five finishes and seven top 10s, including three second-place results.

“The No. 17 is a big part of our story, and it would be special to see it win — and win often — during our 40th anniversary season,” said Rick Hendrick, owner of Hendrick Motorsports and chairman and CEO of Hendrick Automotive Group. “The sponsorship has been a big success for and our dealerships, and we’re pleased to add more races and take it to another level in 2024. It’s Victory Lane or bust.”

The No. 17 car number has a rich history with Hendrick Motorsports. NASCAR Hall of Famer Darrell Waltrip drove it to nine wins for the team from 1987 to 1990, including in the 1989 Daytona 500. The car number was also driven by Ricky Hendrick in various races, including in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series in 2000 and 2001. The paint scheme will again be based on the No. 17 truck driven by Hendrick during his 2001 rookie season.


March 9Phoenix RacewayWilliam Byron
March 23Circuit of The AmericasKyle Larson
May 11Darlington RacewayWilliam Byron
May 25Charlotte Motor SpeedwayChase Elliott
June 8Sonoma RacewayBoris Said
June 22New Hampshire Motor SpeedwayAlex Bowman
July 6Chicago Street CourseKyle Larson
July 13Pocono RacewayWilliam Byron
Aug. 13Darlington RacewayChase Elliott
Sept. 14Watkins Glen InternationalWilliam Byron