Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race 101: TV times, tires, stats, insights

This weekend is unlike any other of the season.  This is All-Star weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway, where eligible drivers will compete for the opportunity to win $1 million.

Here is everything you need to know for Saturday’s events at Charlotte.

RELATED: Full All-Star Weekend Schedule | Fan Vote now open


The 1.5-mile track has 24 degrees of banking in the corners and 5 degrees on the straightaways. The first All-Star Race took place in 1985, with Charlotte Motor Speedway hosting every All-Star Race since — except 1986, when the race was held at Atlanta Motor Speedway.


In order to be eligible for the All-Star Race, a driver must have one or more of the following: Be a 2018/2019 winner in a points-paying race, a past All-Star Race winner, a past Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion or the Fan Vote winner. Drivers who did not qualify prior to the All-Star Race still have a shot of making the big show.

Three drivers can race their way in via the preceding Monster Energy Open. The Open will be broken up into three stages of 20, 20 and 10 laps. Each stage winner will move onto the All-Star Race with their shot to win $1 million.

MORE: Breaking down the package

The 2019 All-Star Race will consist of four stages — Stage 1 is 30 laps, Stage 2 is 20 laps, Stage 3 is 20 laps and Stage 4 is 15 laps (this being five laps longer than last year’s final stage). The race will not have a mandatory pit rule. Green- and yellow-flag laps will count in Stages 1-3, while only green-flag laps will count in the final stage. NASCAR Overtime rules will be in effect for Stages 1-3. For the final stage, if the race is restarted with less than two laps remaining, there will be unlimited attempts at a green-white- checkered finish under green-flag conditions.


Teams will use the 2019 rules package with a target horsepower of 550 with aero ducts, and will have a single-piece carbon fiber splitter/pan that will provide a more stable aero platform and create more consistent performance in traffic. Cars also will have a new radiator duct which exits through the hood and not into the engine compartment, which will create improved aerodynamic parity and reduce engine temperatures. These features may be incorporated into the new Generation-7 stock car that is slated to debut in 2021.

Single-car qualifying will be implemented this weekend, with the ever-popular no-speed-limit pit stops returning for All-Star Race qualifying.

The Goodyear tires for the All-Star Race will be the same tire compound from last year’s All-Star Race on the right side, and the same compound from Dover and Kansas this season on the left. Drivers will have four sets of tires at their disposal for the All-Star Race.


When it comes to the All-Star Race, Hendrick Motorsports comes out on top. Hendrick Motorsports is tops all-time in the following All-Star Race categories — eight overall All-Star wins, four Monster Energy Open wins, 108 All-Star starts, 21 different drivers eligible, 38 top fives, 60 top 10s and 711 laps. Of those eight wins, four were from driver Jimmie Johnson — which is the most event wins for any driver.

PHOTOS: Every winner, ever

Chase Elliott has the third-best career average finish at the All-Star Race among all drivers with at least two starts in the race at 6.0. Tim Richmond is tops in that category (4.0).

Stats courtesy of Racing Insights 


The Monster Energy Open will air at 6 p.m. ET on FS1, and the All-Star Race will follow at 8 p.m. ET on FS1. Fans can also follow along on the live leaderboard on, get in-car audio on RaceView and watch in-car cameras on NASCAR Drive.

RELATED: Six on-track events to be streamed on


Kevin Harvick took control from Kyle Larson late, then held off the field — specifically Daniel Suarez — in an overtime surge. Harvick led the final 11 laps and crossed the start/finish line .325 seconds ahead of Suarez for his second career All-Star Race win.


Jimmie Johnson 4
Kevin Harvick 2
Kurt Busch 1
Kyle Busch 1
Ryan Newman 1
Denny Hamlin 1
Joey Logano 1