Back to News

February 12, 2021

Starting lineup for 2021 Daytona 500

Heading into Thursday’s Bluegreen Vacations Duel races at Daytona International Speedway, we knew the front row for Sunday’s Daytona 500 main event after single-car qualifying Wednesday.

Hendrick Motorsports driver Alex Bowman is on the Busch Pole, his fourth consecutive front-row start in The Great American Race and first driving the No. 48 Chevrolet. His teammate, William Byron, will officially be credited with second-place starting position when the green flag drops Sunday (2:30 p.m. ET on FOX, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), although he may need to drop to the back if his team uses a backup car after a Thursday night wreck.

We also knew Thursday’s twin 60-lap races would set the remainder of the running order, as well as the final two spots in the field.

RELATED: Full Speedweeks schedule

As a refresher, Duel 1 results set the inside row of the Daytona 500 starting lineup. Duel 2 set the outside row. The 36 Charter teams are guaranteed a spot in the Daytona 500 field, and eight Open, non-Charter teams competed for the final four spots via a mix of Duel results and single-car qualifying speeds from earlier in the week.

After the Bluegreen Vacations Duel races, here is the Daytona 500 starting lineup.

* indicates one of the four open teams that made the field.

Driver Team
1. Alex Bowman No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports
2. William Byron No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports
3. Aric Almirola No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
4. Austin Dillon No. 3 Richard Childress Racing
5. Christopher Bell No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
6. Bubba Wallace No. 23 23XI Racing
7. Ryan Newman No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing
8. Kevin Harvick No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9. Joey Logano No. 22 Team Penske
10. Kyle Busch No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
11. Ryan Preece* No. 37 JTG Daugherty Racing*
12. Chase Elliott No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports
13 Kyle Larson No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports
14. Ryan Blaney No. 12 Team Penske
15. Daniel Suarez No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
16. Corey LaJoie No. 7 Spire Motorsports
17. Michael McDowell No. 34 Front Row Motorsports
18. David Ragan* No. 36 Front Row Motorsports*
19. Jamie McMurray No. 77 Spire Motorsports
20. Kurt Busch No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22. Chris Buescher No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing
23. Matt DiBenedetto No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing
24. Brad Keselowski No. 2 Team Penske
25. Denny Hamlin No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
26. Martin Truex Jr. No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
27. Cole Custer No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
28. Joey Gase No. 53 Rick Ware Racing
29. Tyler Reddick No. 8 Richard Childress Racing
30. Chase Briscoe No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
31. Erik Jones No. 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
32. Derrike Cope No. 15 Rick Ware Racing
33. Quin Houff No. 00 StarCom Racing
34. Ross Chastain No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
35. Cody Ware No. 51 Rick Ware Racing
36. Anthony Alfredo No. 38 Front Row Motorsports
37. Josh Bilicki No. 52 Rick Ware Racing
38. BJ McLeod No. 78 Live Fast Motorsports
39. Austin Cindric* No. 33 Team Penske
40. Kaz Grala* No. 16 Kaulig Racing