Autodrome Granby (Joe Labrie)

Track profile: Autodrome Granby

A new era for Autodrome Granby under NASCAR sanctioning is starting on Friday evening with a 75-lap feature in the track’s Sportsman Superstar Series.

While not well known to motorsports fans in the United States, Granby has been one of the most popular dirt tracks in Canada since opening in the 1960s. Along with having healthy fields for their weekly divisions, Granby has also attracted competitors from Canada and the U.S. by hosting several events for major sanctioning bodies.

Having operated for two years at limited capacity due to Canada’s COVID-19 restrictions, a capacity crowd is expected to descend onto Granby Friday night to watch more than 50 of the track’s best drivers battle it out for a shot at $3,000.

FLORACING: Follow all the on-track action at Autodrome Granby

Friday’s season opener kicks off the most ambitious schedule in Granby’s history with 21 races on the calendar. Among the notable events on the schedule include three days of racing around Fete Nationale, or Jean Baptiste Day, on June 24, as well as the year-end Rebel Weekend that will take place from Sept. 16-17.

Below is everything to know about Autodrome Granby.

Autodrome Granby

Track Profile

Autodrome Granby (Joe Labrie)
Track Autodrome Granby
Location Granby, Quebec, Canada
Opened 1964
Length Half-mile
Surface Dirt

The vision Marcel Guillemette had when he first broke ground on Granby has evolved into a track cherished by nearly everyone in the adjacent town and throughout Quebec.

Originally going by the name Rebel Speedway, the facility experienced exponential growth after it was bought by Serge St. Sauveur, Normand St. Sauveur, Rene Pelletier and Bob Gatien in 1985, who formally changed the name of the track to Autodrome Granby.

For several decades, Martin Roy Jr. held the distinction of being the most successful driver in Granby’s Modified division with four track championships. David Hebert eclipsed that mark in 2017 and currently has six track championships after claiming another last year, while Francois Bernier follows closely behind him with five of his own.

FOLLOW GRANBY: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Despite being new to NASCAR sanctioning, plenty of drivers in the sanctioning body’s top three divisions have found success at Granby, with Stewart Friesen scoring a Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modified win at the track back in 2018.

Other notable names that have visited Victory Lane at Granby include three-time World of Outlaws champion Sammy Swindell, former Richard Childress Racing development driver and Chili Bowl winner Tim McCreadie, as well as eight-time ARCA Menards Series winner Jimmy Horton.

More history will be added to Granby’s prestigious legacy on Friday night as Hebert, Bernier and plenty more local heroes will look to become $3,000 richer at the end of a grueling 75-lap Sportsman Superstar Series feature.

Below are the complete list of Modified track champions at Autodrome Granby.

Year Track Champion
1985 Chuck Frazier
1986 Raymond Collette
1987 Martin Roy Jr.
1988 Marco Potvin
1989 Robert Ranger
1990 Martin Roy Jr.
1991 Martin Roy Jr.
1992 Real Lafrance
1993 Martin Roy Jr.
1994 Mike Romano
1995 Luke Plante
1996 Steve Paine
1997 Steve Paine
1998 Dave Camara/Leon Gone
1999 Marco Potvin/Luke Plante
2000 Steve Poirier/Real Lafrance
2001 Real Lafrance
2002 Claude Brouillard
2003 Steve Poirier
2004 David Hebert
2005 Steve Poirier
2006 Alain Boisvert
2007 Alain Boisvert
2008 Kayle Robidoux
2009 David Hebert
2010 Mario Clair
2011 Francois Bernier
2012 Francois Bernier
2013 Francois Bernier
2014 David Hebert
2015 David Hebert
2016 Francois Bernier
2017 David Hebert
2018 Steve Bernier
2019 Steve Bernier
2020 Francois Bernier
2021 David Hebert