Back to News

February 14, 2024

Projecting the lineups for Duel races, 2024 Daytona 500

Each year, the NASCAR Cup Series kicks off the season with its pinnacle event — the Daytona 500. The 66th annual running is set for Monday, Feb. 19 (4 p.m. ET, FOX, MRN Radio, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). And, like any big event, some unique quirks are part of the build-up.

The most notable difference in the “Great American Race” compared to any other on the Cup schedule is how the starting lineup is set. Forty cars will make the Daytona 500 starting grid. Thirty-six teams are guaranteed starting spots thanks to their Charters, leaving only four spots available for Open teams.

RELATED: Daytona 500 schedule | Complete Daytona 500 winner history

The process begins with single-car qualifying on Wednesday, where the two fastest drivers — Joey Logano and Michael McDowell — secured the front-row starting positions for Monday’s race. Additionally, the two fastest Open cars — Anthony Alfredo and David Ragan — clinched a spot in Monday’s main event

The remaining results from single-car qualifying set the field for the two Bluegreen Vacations Duel races on Thursday. The duel races are 60-lap affairs, the results of which set the lineup for the Daytona 500 itself.

Drivers who are in odd-numbered positions on the speed chart from single-car qualifying make up the starting grid of Duel No. 1, while those who qualify in even-numbered positions make up Duel No. 2 (although NASCAR ensures an even number of Open cars in each race, so there may be slight adjustments). The highest-finishing Open car in each duel advances into the Daytona 500.

The results of Duel No. 1 set the inside row for the 2024 Daytona 500, while the results of Duel No. 2 set the outside row for Monday’s race.

Below are the results of the Duel races and the Daytona 500 starting lineup.

Official Bluegreen Vacations Duel No. 1 Results

* denotes Open, non-Charter team

Finishing PositionCar No.Driver
145Tyler Reddick
29Chase Elliott
348Alex Bowman
477Carson Hocevar
543Erik Jones
699Daniel Suárez
722Joey Logano
854Ty Gibbs
95Kyle Larson
1017Chris Buescher
111Ross Chastain
1284Jimmie Johnson*
1341Ryan Preece
1419Martin Truex Jr.
157Corey LaJoie
1644J.J. Yeley*
1738Todd Gilliland
183Austin Dillon
1962Anthony Alfredo*
2047Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
2131Daniel Hemric

Official Bluegreen Vacations Duel No. 2 Results

* denotes Open, non-Charter team

Finishing PositionCar No.Driver
120Christopher Bell
22Austin Cindric
311Denny Hamlin
442John H. Nemechek
521Harrison Burton
671Zane Smith
76Brad Keselowski
824William Byron
914Chase Briscoe
1051Justin Haley
1123Bubba Wallace
1236Kaz Grala*
1316AJ Allmendinger
1478BJ McLeod*
1560David Ragan*
1634Michael McDowell
174Josh Berry
1812Ryan Blaney
198Kyle Busch
2015Riley Herbst
2110Noah Gragson

Projected Daytona 500 starting lineup

* denotes Open, non-Charter team.

** BJ McLeod and JJ Yeley did not qualifying for the Daytona 500

PositionCar No.DriverHow Spot is Determined
122Joey LoganoBusch Light Pole winner
234Michael McDowellSecond fastest in qualifying
345Tyler ReddickDuel No. 1 results
420Christopher BellDuel No. 2 results
59Chase ElliottDuel No. 1 results
62Austin CindricDuel No. 2 results
748Alex BowmanDuel No. 1 results
811Denny HamlinDuel No. 2 results
977Carson HocevarDuel No. 1 results
1042John H. NemechekDuel No. 2 results
1143Erik JonesDuel No. 1 results
1221Harrison BurtonDuel No. 2 results
1399Daniel SuárezDuel No. 1 results
1471Zane SmithDuel No. 2 results
1554Ty GibbsDuel No. 1 results
166Brad KeselowskiDuel No. 2 results
175Kyle LarsonDuel No. 1 results
1824William ByronDuel No. 2 results
1917Chris BuescherDuel No. 1 results
2014Chase BriscoeDuel No. 2 results
211Ross ChastainDuel No. 1 results
2251Justin HaleyDuel No. 2 results
2384Jimmie Johnson*Duel No. 1 results
2423Bubba WallaceDuel No. 2 results
2541Ryan PreeceDuel No. 1 results
2636Kaz Grala*Duel No. 2 results
2719Martin Truex Jr.Duel No. 1 results
2816AJ AllmendingerDuel No. 2 results
297Corey LaJoieDuel No. 1 results
304Josh BerryDuel No. 2 results
3138Todd GillilandDuel No. 1 results
3212Ryan BlaneyDuel No. 2 results
333Austin DillonDuel No. 1 results
348Kyle BuschDuel No. 2 results
3547Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Duel No. 1 results
3615Riley HerbstDuel No. 2 results
3731Daniel HemricDuel No. 1 results
3810Noah GragsonDuel No. 2 results
3962Anthony Alfredo*Qualifying speed
4060David Ragan*Qualifying speed